Life · RNY

Saturday’s are for being lazy, right?

Today I’m hanging out with my best friend and her kiddos. We went to lunch at Newks Eatery, which I love. I thought all the way there about what I should eat vs what I want to eat.

I decided that I would just get a half Cesar salad because that my favorite thing besides the roasted veggie sandwich. I knew I couldn’t stomach the sandwich and didn’t want the bread.

I ate probably half of the salad and boy was it yummy!

As I’m walking to the car not even 10 minutes after eating I felt Mabel start rumbling and cramping. She did not like the salad as much as I did. I thought I would be able to make it to Target because I was going to dump.

Dump? Yes, wls patients get something called dumping syndrome. And let me say it SUCKS ass!!

What is dumping syndrome?

a group of symptoms, including weakness, abdominal discomfort, and sometimes abnormally rapid bowel evacuation, occurring after meals in some patients who have undergone gastric surgery.

What happens when you dump?

Signs and symptoms of dumping syndrome generally occur right after eating, especially after a meal rich in table sugar (sucrose) or fruit sugar (fructose). Signs and symptoms might include:

Nausea

Vomiting

Abdominal cramps

Diarrhea

Flushing

Dizziness, lightheadedness

Rapid heart rate

However, I did not make it to Target. Melissa had to pull over to a gas station. At this point I did not care because I wouldn’t of made it down to Target. It could of been a lot worse if we hadn’t of been close to the gas station!

So I got a cup of ice and we headed to Target.

Lesson learned the hard way. No more Cesar salad for me and Mabel. It’s hard to kee her happy! It really is a trial and error process with some things.

Now I’m going to enjoy the rest of my Saturday!

Angela

Leave a Reply

