Progress Pictures · RNY

Surreal Moments

Today is weigh in day for me, as every Monday has been for the past few months. I had hoped and prayed all weekend that I would at least be down 1lb by today.

Why one pound? Because that would officially put me at losing 100lbs since my highest weight.

Why was I nervous? It is not like I haven’t been losing steadily over the past 4 months.

I stepped on the scale and closed my eyes until I heard that beep. When I opened my eyes I had lost more than my 1lb, in fact I had lost 3.2lbs. I was concerned this week about how much I would actually lose because I started taking VitronC, an iron pill three times a day. As you may know or may not know iron can cause constipation, which I haven’t had any issues with yet. But still I was concerned.

Here is a picture from 2015 compared to today 2.6.17. I have lost a total of 102.2 lbs.

 

2-6-17

I still have issues with my mind seeing the changes in the mirror, I may have a few days that I can see a difference. I know its something that a lot of people struggle with after weight loss surgery or even extreme weight loss in general.

I had surgery on 9/20/16, that day has changed the rest of my life! I would do it all over again without hesitation. This was hands down the best thing I could have ever done for myself both physically and mentally. In general I feel better all around. When I think about what that means and looks like, its shocking to me that before I thought I was okay. I look at these two pictures and wonder how in the world did I ever get to that point? It was with a lot of bad choices, depression and anxiety that contributed to my weight gain. I know this now and can take the steps to battle those things with exercise and healthier food choices. This journey will be ever going and continue the rest of my life.

I will always be a work in progress!

A

 

Leave a Reply

