RNY

Infusion Fun

Today was my first Iron infusion of 4, for the next 4 weeks. I was uncertain as to what to expect and how my body would react to the actual infusion. I knew going in beforehand that I needed to take some water and my phone with me for the hour to hour half procedure. I decided that I wanted to give Starbucks a try, again, since it was only a mile or so down the road from the infusion site.  The last time I tried Starbucks was about 6 or so weeks out from wls. That did not go over well at all even with decaf and sugar free options. I figured if it made me sick at least I would have an hour to recover while sitting/lying down for the infusion. Not sure if this was a good philosophy or not but I was going to attempt it anyways.

coffee

I ordered a skinny sugar free cinnamon macchiato with almond milk. A little strong at first, but that is probably because I have not drank anything  besides water/Gatorade for the past  5 1/2 months.

By now I am right on time for my appointment in the oncology/infusion lab. I walk in and check in, have a seat in the waiting room. I am still a bit nervous, I have only ever been in a lab like this with my mom when she was in the last stages of breast cancer. I walked in and it is very quiet, with a couple of patients sitting around in chairs facing the windows out front. The gentleman was asleep and the lady was playing on her phone.

The nurse asked if I had ever had any kind of infusion before, along with several other health related questions then it was time to begin. It took a little over an hour for me to finish the bag of iron. I sat there and drank my coffee and played a game on my phone while it finished. infusion

After the infusion I knew that I needed to eat some lunch and get on my way back to work. I stopped by Whole Foods and got my favorite thing in the world! Sushi.

sushi

Crunchy Spicy Tuna Roll. Now I have left overs for dinner tonight.

I had a great morning despite the circumstances.

2 thoughts on “Infusion Fun

  1. Thank you for posting your experience with the iron infusions. My docs talk abt that possibility for me and it makes me less anxious to read that it was relatively uneventful! I hope it helps and you’re feeling better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

